2017 Nominees

Nominations for the 2017 Scottish Rural Awards were open to the public between 1 August 2016 and 14 October 2016, with inspiring rural businesses, initiatives and individuals coming forward from the Western Isles to Moray; Lochaber to East Lothian; Dumfries & Galloway to Caithness. Browse our list of 2017 nominees in our 10 open categories below…

Please note that no shortlists are announced for the Rural Hero and Lifetime Achievement categories. 

 

AGRICULTURE – sponsored by the Bank of Scotland

CH & AK Walker

Down On The Farm – www.downonthefarm.net

East Logan Farm

GT Contracting – www.gt-contracting.co.uk

Hugh Grierson Organic – www.hughgrierson.co.uk

Lands of Marketgate

SoilEssentials Ltd – www.soilessentials.com

The Farm Stall – www.facebook.com/thefarmstallkintyre

The Scottish Organic Milk Producers Association – www.scottishorganicmilk.org

West Galdenoch Farm

 

ARTISAN DRINK

Annandale Distillery – www.annandaledistillery.com

Arbikie – www.arbikie.com

Crossbill Gin – www.crossbillgin.com

Edinbrew – www.edinbrew.beer

Gordon Castle Gin – www.gordoncastlescotland.com

Isle of Arran Distillers – www.arranwhisky.com

Ogilvy Spirits – www.ogilvyspirits.com

Shetland Reel Gin – www.shetlandreel.com

St Andrews Brewing Company – www.standrewsbrewingcompany.co.uk

Strathearn Distillery Ltd – www.strathearndistillery.com

Sulwath Brewers – www.sulwathbrewers.co.uk

Summerhouse Drinks – www.summerhousedrinks.com

The Gin Bothy – www.ginbothy.co.uk

The Glenturret Distillery – www.theglenturret.com

Waulkmill Cider – www.waulkmillcider.com

 

ARTISAN FOOD – sponsored by Aldi

Abbotts Chocolates – www.abbottschocolates.co.uk

Barony Country Foods – www.baronycountryfoods.co.uk

Cocoa Mountain – www.cocoamountain.co.uk

Connage Highland Dairy – www.connage.co.uk

Cows & Co – www.cowsandco.com

Galloway Chillies – www.gallowaychillies.co.uk

Isle of Skye Sea Salt Company – www.isleofskyeseasalt.co.uk

Loch Arthur Creamery & Farm Shop – www.locharthur.org.uk

Luss Smokehouse – www.luss-smokehouse.com

Manuela’s Wee Bakery – www.facebook.com/manuelas-wee-bakery

Salar Smokehouse – www.salarsmokehouse.co.uk

Summer Harvest Oils – www.summerharvestoils.co.uk

The Bay Kitchen & Stores – www.facebook.com/thebaykitchenstores

The Food Life – www.facebook.com/thefoodlifeangus

The Very Lovely Sauce Company – www.theverylovelysaucecompany.co.uk

Wee Isle Dairy Ltd – www.facebook.com/weeisledairy

 

BUSINESS DIVERSIFICATION – sponsored by Clarendon Planning & Development

Anta Scotland – www.anta.co.uk

Cardney Estate – www.cardneysportingestate.co.uk

Cheviot Vets – www.cheviotvets.co.uk

Cool & Easy Ltd – www.coolneasy.co.uk

Down On The Farm – www.downonthefarm.net

Drummuir Farm – www.drummuirfarm.co.uk

Duncorrann House & The Lorne Apartments – www.visit-wick.co.uk

Gean House – www.geanhouse.co.uk

Gordon Castle – www.gordoncastlescotland.com

Lands of Marketgate – N/A

Meikleour Estate – www.meikleour.com

Ogilvy Spirits – www.ogilvyspirits.com

Real Wood Studios – www.realwoodstudios.com

Roan’s Dairy – www.fresherthantheudders.co.uk

Ross Bay Retreat – www.rossbayretreat.com

Salar Smokehouse – www.salarsmokehouse.co.uk

The Newport & Tatha Galleries – www.tathagallery.com

The Scottish Arts & Antiques Centre – www.scottish-antiques.com

The Walled Garden, Kincardine – www.facebook.com/the-walled-garden

Uan Wool – www.facebook.com/uanwool

Wee Isle Dairy Ltd – www.facebook.com/weeisledairy

 

BUSINESS START UP – sponsored by Gillespie MacAndrew

Bakka – www.bakkaknitwear.com

Biomasster Ltd – www.biomasster.co.uk

Brandfire – www.wearebrandfire.co.uk

Buth Bheag Candle Co – www.buthbheagcandleco.uk

Country Plum – www.countryplum.co.uk

Craine Communications – www.crainecommunications.scot

Exclamation Marketing – www.exclamationmarketing.co.uk

Flossie’s Beach Store – www.facebook.com/clachtollbeachstores

GlenWyvis Community Benefit Society – www.glenwyvis.com

House of Bluebell – www.houseofbluebell.com

Lochranza Centre CIC – www.lochranzacentre.co.uk

Loti (Craobh) Limited – Lord of the Isles – www.lordoftheisles.co.uk

Phabulous Pheasant – www.phabulouspheasant.com

Primrosehill Equestrian – www.primrosehillequestrian.co.uk

Roan’s Dairy – www.fresherthantheudders.co.uk

Salar Smokehouse – www.salarsmokehouse.co.uk

Sandwick Bay Candles – www.sandwickbaycandles.com

The Very Lovely Sauce Company – www.theverylovelysaucecompany.co.uk

Trossachs Mobility – www.trossachsmobility.com

Wee Isle Dairy Ltd – www.facebook.com/weeisledairy

Wonderland Hairdressing – www.wonderland-hair.com

 

CONSERVATION AND THE ENVIRONMENT

Brighter Bridge of Weir – www.brighterbridgeofweir.org

Communities Along The Carron – www.catca.org.uk

Cree Valley Community Woodlands Trust – www.creevalley.com

Mull of Galloway Trust – www.mull-of-galloway.co.uk

Nevis Environmental – www.nevisenvironmental.com

Ogilvy Spirits – www.ogilvyspirits.com

Rivers and Fisheries Trusts of Scotland (RAFTS) – www.rafts.org.uk

Saving Scotland’s Red Squirrels – www.scottishsquirrels.org.uk

Scottish Canals – www.scottishcanals.co.uk

The Scottish Deer Centre – www.tsdc.co.uk

 

EDUCATION – sponsored by the Royal Highland and Agricultural Society of Scotland (RHASS)

art4you Scotland – www.art4youscotland.co.uk

Border Union Agricultural Society – www.buas.org

Grosvenor Estates – www.grosvenorestate.com

Nick Nairn Cook School – www.nicknairncookschool.com

North Highland College UHI Gamekeeping Department – www.northhighland.uhi.ac.uk

North Lands Creative Glass – www.northlandsglass.com

Peebles CAN – www.peeblescan.org

Pisces Learning Innovations – www.pisceslearning.com

Scottish Association of Young Farmers – www.sayfc.org

 

RURAL EMPLOYER – sponsored by the University of Stirling Management School

Baxters – www.baxters.com

Bruichladdich Distillery – www.bruichladdich.com

CalMac Ferries – www.calmac.co.uk

Clark Engineering – www.clark-engineering.com

Creelers Arran Smoked Products – www.creelers.co.uk

Diageo – www.diageo.com

Gordon Castle – www.gordoncastlescotland.com

Harvey Maps – www.harveymaps.co.uk

Highland Spring – www.highlandspring.com

Kezie Foods – www.keziefoods.co.uk

Laggan Outdoor – www.lagganoutdoor.co.uk

Loch Duart – www.lochduart.com

MacPhie – www.macphie.com

Marine Harvest – www.marineharvest.com

Monachyle Mhor Hotel – www.mhor.net

Oban Phoenix Cinema – www.obanphoenix.com

Scottish Salmon Producers’ Association – www.scottishsalmon.co.uk

The Green Welly Stop – www.thegreenwellystop.co.uk

Walkers Shortbread – www.walkersshortbread.com

 

 

RURAL ENTERPRISE - sponsored by Subaru

Annandale Distillery – www.annandaledistillery.com

Ardmoor – www.ardmoor.co.uk

art4you Scotland – www.art4youscotland.co.uk

Ballogie Estate Enterprises – Potarch Development – www.ballogie-estate.co.uk

Buth Bharraigh Ltd – www.facebook.com/buthbharraigh

Clachtoll Holidays – www.clachtollholidays.co.uk

Dry Stone Designs – www.drystonedesigns.co.uk

Flossie’s Beach Store – www.facebook.com/clachtollbeachstores

Galloway Activity Centre – www.lochken.co.uk

Gean House – www.geanhouse.co.uk

Gordon Castle – www.gordoncastlescotland.com

In House – Chocolates By Design – www.inhousechocolates.biz

Karina’s Cakes – www.facebook.com/karinas-cakes-stornoway

Loti (Craobh) Limited – Lord Of The Isles – www.lordoftheisles.co.uk

Oban Phoenix Cinema – www.obanphoenix.com

Ogilvy Spirits – www.ogilvyspirits.com

Peebles CAN – www.peeblescan.org

Phabulous Pheasant – www.phabulouspheasant.com

Puffin Patchworks – www.puffinpatchworks.com

Resipole Studios – www.resipolestudios.co.uk

Roan’s Dairy – www.fresherthantheudders.co.uk

Rock Machinery – www.rockmachinery.co.uk

Salar Smokehouse – www.salarsmokehouse.co.uk

Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance – www.scaa.org.uk

Shetland Collection – www.shetland-knitwear.co.uk

Steven Burgess Fine Furniture – www.stevenburgess.co.uk

Taymouth Marina – www.taymouthmarina.com

The Bay Kitchen & Stores – www.facebook.com/thebaykitchenstores

The Caddy Mann – www.caddymann.com

The Newport & Tatha Gallery – www.tathagallery.com / www.thenewportrestaurant.co.uk

The Puffer Bar & Restaurant – www.pufferbarandrestaurant.co.uk

Tracy Gow Photography – www.tracygowphotography.co.uk

Wee Isle Dairy Ltd – www.facebook.com/weeisledairy

Wonderland Hairdressing – www.wonderland-hair.com

 

RURAL TOURISM & HOSPITALITY - sponsored by HW Energy

Abbotts Chocolates – www.abbottschocolates.co.uk

Annandale Distillery – www.annandaledistillery.com

Ardtorna – www.ardtorna.co.uk

art4you Scotland – www.art4youscotland.co.uk

Best Western Kinloch Hotel – www.bw-kinlochhotel.co.uk

Boath Stables – www.boathstables.co.uk

Callater Lodge – www.callaterlodge.co.uk

Clachtoll Holidays – www.clachtollholidays.co.uk

Cologin Chalets & Barn Bar – www.cologin.co.uk

Craigatin House & Courtyard – www.craigatinhouse.co.uk

Craigie’s Farm – www.craigies.co.uk

Cream O’ Galloway – www.creamogalloway.co.uk

Derrybeg Bed & Breakfast – www.derrybeg.co.uk

Down On The Farm – www.downonthefarm.net

Drummuir Farm – www.drummuirfarm.co.uk

Duncorrann House & The Lorne Apartments – www.visit-wick.co.uk

Errichel House & Cottages/Thyme at Errichel Restaurant – www.errichel.co.uk

Gean House – www.geanhouse.co.uk

Glenegedale House – www.glenegedalehouse.co.uk

Highland Farm Cottages – www.highlandfarmcottages.co.uk

Loch Ness Guest House – www.lochnessguesthouse.com

Lodges at the Mains – www.lodgesatthemains.co.uk

Logan Botanic Garden – www.rbge.org.uk

Luss Estates – www.lussestates.co.uk

Lys-Na-Greyne - www.lys-na-greyne.com

Oban Winter Festival – www.obanwinterfestival.com

Salar Smokehouse – www.salarsmokehouse.co.uk

Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival – www.spiritofspeyside.com

St Andrews Coach Houses – www.standrewscoachhouses.co.uk

The Buccleuch Arms – www.buccleucharms.com

The Cairngorm Reindeer Centre – www.cairngormreindeer.co.uk

The Enchanted Forest – www.enchantedforest.org.uk

The Famous Grouse Experience – www.experience.thefamousgrouse.com

The Newport & Tatha Galleries – www.tathagallery.com

The Puffer Bar and Restaurant – www.pufferbarandrestaurant.co.uk

The Rings – www.therings.co.uk

The Selkirk Arms Hotel – www.selkirkarmshotel.co.uk

The Walled Garden, Kincardine – www.facebook.com/the-walled-garden

The Yot Spot – www.theyotspot.com

Venachar Lochside – www.venachar-lochside.com

Visit Arran – www.visitarran.com